“Only If I Could” and “My Only Weakness” by Vina Padron Gaddis

Posted: January 5, 2014 in Vol. 4: Fall Essays 2013

Only If I Could

I could scream loudly

if only I had a voice.

I could rage intensely

if only I had an opinion.

I could cry all night

if only I had a heart.

I could laugh all day

if only I had a breath.

I could smile brightly

if only I had you.

But I don’t. I won’t. I can’t.

Feel- you tell me.

If only I could.

chocolateMy Only Weakness 

 A natural aphrodisiac

you intoxicate, hypnotize, and ooze

 all over my fingertips

a warm spread

my lips

widen

to devour

silky thickness

resting on my tongue

lingering down my throat

creamy concoction come

 here again

in my mouth

so you can just melt

so I can drink you

overdose on your sweetness

 semi, dark or white

sometimes bittersweet

but no nut

you are

my only weakness

 

Written for Dr. David N. Odhiambo’s ENG 313: Creative Writing

    

Leave a Reply

