“The Moth” by Kelsie Valentine

Posted: December 31, 2014 in Vol. 6: Fall Essays 2014

(Moth)IMG_5442

From the void, I come.
Upon my first breath,
My wings unfurl,
Black as the Night,
Smooth as satin.
I fall, only to rise again,
As the wind lifts my spirit high,
I glide across the starlit sky.

Unseen and silent
I fly, flapping and swerving
Against the howling winds.
Moonlight beckons me to follow
The path she shines before me.
I must answer her call,
For she is the light of my life,
The guide through my darkest hours.

 

(Man)

We fear the dark,
Where the unknown lurks.
We search for the light,
To lead our way.
We are drawn to happiness,
Frantic to find the light
Like the dusty moth
Floating on broken wings.

I do not sleep anymore.
On top of the sheets,
Listening to the world outside
The howling of the wind,
Pitter-patter of rain,
Crackle of the candle flame.
My body lays still and limp
The flame reaches the end of the wick.

From the void I come,
Like waking from a dream.
Upon my first breath,
My wings unfurl,
Black as the Night,
And smooth as satin.
I fall, only to rise again
As the wind lifts my spirit high.

Unseen and silent
I fly, flapping and swerving
Against the howling winds.
Moonlight beckons me to follow
The path she shines before me.
I must answer her call,
For she is the light of my life,
The guide through my darkest hours.

We do what is in our power
To follow the light.
A path we must not stray
Leads us through the darkness
And to tomorrow.
To find the light
That never goes out
The light inside each other.

Leave a Reply

